Lost & Found – Scintilla Project

Of all the things I have lost, I miss my mind the most. –Albert Einstein (often wrongly attributed to Ghandi)
One of today’s themes is : Show a part of your nature that you feel you’ve lost. Can you get it back? Would it be worth it?
So what have I had that I no longer have.

All things in general (including virginity – 3:28 or so)—well I’ll let George Carlin explain all that.

Hairline – once I had a full head of hair that got the daily treatment of gel/mousse. I would never think of wearing a hat to undo that work. Even in winter. I mean, it was my HAIR, man! Damn that scientific theory that most of your body heat left through your head. Theories can’t be proven right, right? Or is it wrong? Whatever! As years went by I would notice the changes, but interestingly enough, I cared less about it. At this point, I am receding, though it doesn’t seem to be progressing. Also I keep it trimmed with a part, so it’s really low maintenance – maybe a few seconds with a brush and I am good to go. I will, for special occasions (high profile assassinations, peace treaties, annual evil overlord alumni meetings) put a little mousse in there, but that is just to keep it in place. Hats? Oh yes! I have ones for every season, and for sunny days. The way I see it, a hat keeps me warm. Giving a rat’s ass about how it looks or what it will do to my stylin’, doesn’t.

So, even though I am a bit more ‘reflective’ (I don’t have to buy that special day-glow tape that runners stick to their asses, so cars don’t run them down during midnight runs – but then again I don’t run), the FAA hasn’t had me arrested for distracting pilots, and they can’t see me from space in the ISS. I have no interest in any hair restoration treatments; sewing hair up there sounds painful, and Rogaine costs $ and I think you have to use it all the time. If I tried to get my insurance to cover it, I might set off a chain of events that causes an up-to-now-unheard-of polarity between political parties, and Obama dropping a dime to tell me I’m his hero.

Hey Cueball, just wanted to let you know, you are the wind beneath my wings.

My sense of humor – well it has always been based on sarcasm, anecdotes, obscure references, and repeating any of those subjects in a joke (stopping while it is still funny, not creating that awkward moment). I still haven’t lost a step; I can pull out a Star Wars or Simpsons quote on que.

My childlike sense of wonderment– Huh? Oh you mean that idea of how everything is lovely, innocent, and pureeeeeeeeeeeeeee…oh sorry, that was just so boring that I fell asleep typing it. I grew up with Star Wars, GI Joe, and Transformers. I knew that there was conflict in the world (and a long time ago, in galaxies far, far away), and since the United Nations never made a playset, well I put other stuff on my list to Santa, or worked with what I had.

COBRA's forces always invaded and occupied the Street with minimal losses.

Also I had video games that emphasized the ideas of hunter vs. hunted, running from/confronting my personal demons, and of course gluttony , with the realization that completing a task and getting to the next level of responsibilities just means having to do the same thing, only faster and with more difficult over and over again.

Hey Sisyphus.

Rather than look at what I have lost, I think about what I have gained (which is, I don’t know…the wisdom to know the difference. Or something). Besides, I wouldn’t have space for all that stuff anyway.

4 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, General Nerdliness, Humor, Life, Scintilla Project, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Lost & Found – Scintilla Project

  1. My husband’s hairline isn’t receding, it’s stampeding! Poor guy.

  2. Love the Sesame Street thing – funny all the crazy things our culture (if you can call it that) does to us

  3. So you had your own Stalingrad going on with the Fischer Price playset? I’m impressed. I was such a girl I played “House” in the Death Star. Sure, it was Your-Parents-Are-All-Dead-And-The-Kids-Have-To-Rebuild-Society House, but Luke Skywalker spent a lot of time in the kitchen.

    Love the caption with the Obama picture.

Leave a Reply

