Self-Aware: Scintilla Project

Welll just a few hours to go until the next topic, but hey it still meets the deadline 😉

Talk about the ways in which your body is awesome.

–It’s an attractive soul-holder. I mean let’s face it- we’ve all been persuaded to try a product or service based solely on the advertising/packaging.

–A dinner of cabbage or beans provides hours of free entertainment. Perfectly timed, it can also give me some much needed ‘alone’ time.

–It lets me know when I see a gorgeous woman. Sometimes it lets her know too.

–My legs can take me anywhere I need to go; at times towards something, on other occasions- away. They have a great relationship with my brain, so I let them decide and go along with it. Collectively they know better than I do.

–My hands and fingers help me express how I see the world around me (and galaxies far far away when I am talking about Star Wars). Whether tapping a keyboard, holding a pen(cil), or pushing the shutter on a camera, they are the tool that help describe my creativity. They are not good at drawing (BUT when playing ‘Draw Something’ or Pictionary, not knowing how to draw makes the game much more entertaining!), but I can at least describe what my 5 senses are telling ME.

–Speaking of those, everything can be experienced using at least one and up to all 5 of the senses. Though the sixth sense- which can help you see dead people, pick winning lotto numbers or know when Dr. Octopus is behind you – can technically be useful, we seem to get along without it. Depending on how many arch enemies you have.

–I do wonder how with all the efficient, wonderful attributes our bodies are capable of, we can ingest the most wonderful delicious and nutritious foods ever, and turn it all into something terrible. Trying reverse psychology on ourselves, that is, eating junk food doesn’t result in us “leaving” a bunch of flowers, or -during those White Castle binges – a unicorn that grants realistic wishes, and compensates us with gold coins (it is wearing a backpack full) for ones that it cannot grant.

–All kidding aside, I am thankful for each day when I can open my eyes, wiggle my toes, feed myself and my cats, and go to my job. Even on the days when I dread it all.

8 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Scintilla Project, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Self-Aware: Scintilla Project

  1. Why, Brain, you have such a sweet soul in that all-purpose carrier. I bet kitty is always happy to see you, even after she’s eaten.

  2. Funny how much we take for granted. Soul holding is pretty important stuff.

  3. Debbie

    Bodies are useful.
    It’s a shame White Castle can’t produce unicorns at the end of digestion instead of choppy bowel movements.

  4. Great post! I’m not good at drawing either…Actually, I’m not even very good at draw something…I participated in a few of the scintilla posts as well, I kind of wish they were still going.

Leave a Reply

