Trifextra Challenge – All Apologies

For this week’s challenge, you have to write a letter of apology in exactly 33 words. Addresses, salutations, closings, etc. (should you wish to include them) do not count in the 33 words.

Well, I do not have any personal apologies to anyone; I’m a good man! The following are a few that relate to people who have ‘passed through’ to one degree or another this week. This assignment brought them to mind immediately. I took the mindset of ‘being mean’ since I typically do not say/do these things, so don’t judge me too harshly 😉

The limit is 3 per entry [I checked!]

Feedback is appreciated, votes [back on the trifecta page] even more so!


Dear Pushy Lady on the Subway,

Sorry I got in your way.
You should always be first in or out.
You obviously believe subway seats randomly place $20 bills in pockets!
An Urban Legend. Like manners are to you.

Dear First Girlfriend,

It was 20 years ago! You’ve moved on, right? No lingering broken heart? I like to believe my receding hairline owes to genetics, but maybe you made a ‘deal’ so I’d never forget….

Dear Homeless Man,

Putting aside the good manners I was raised with, society decrees you are invisible, untrustworthy, possibly insane. Your story is false, your intentions dubious. Sorry; no money, just advice – Get a job!

11 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Trifeta Writing Challenge, Trifextra Writing Challenge

11 responses to “Trifextra Challenge – All Apologies

  1. No apologies to or from the zombie bunnies?!?!?

  2. whoa! tell us how you really feel.

    seriously, though . . . great job

  3. hah! what a presumptuous ex-boyfriend, The girl was wise to let him go. 🙂

  4. I could almost hear the first one actually spoken to the woman, but maybe that’s just (rude) me. 🙂

  5. mairzeebp

    I took the subway for years. I know that woman and I applaud you for finally saying what so many travelers have been thinking. And the receding hairline in the second story…LOVED it!!!

  6. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit
    my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

