Trifextra Sixteen – Mother’s Day

This weekend’s Trifextra is the first of its kind. This weekend we only need 32 words from you, because we’re giving you the 33rd. Your challenge is to write anything you want, in whichever form you please, so long as your response is exactly 33 words and includes the word “mother.”

Good luck! And to those of you women with children who have called, will call, or already do call attention to your natural process of aging: happy Mother’s Day!

Keeping in mind that we are allowed to put up to 3 in an entry, I have some words over 2 short poems that immediately came to mind. These are truly personal, straight from the heart, and yes I will send her the link here, so she knows just how I feel.
Yes, Mom, it’s all out in the open.


You’ve always supported me, mother,
so why not on this?
Dammit that bug we found in Honey Nut Cheerios-
-that was 1981!
I’m older, wiser and over. Plus it may help lower cholesterol!

* * *

Don’t worry mother;
The cats are my ‘kids’,
But you’ll have ‘real’ grandkids some day
You can feed them tuna, on sandwiches!
And the toys you spoil them with
Won’t be catnip scented.

P.S. – Since you probably showed Dad— don’t worry Pop, I’ll cover you on June 17th 🙂

28 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Humor, Life, Poetry, Trifextra Writing Challenge, Writing, Writing Challenges

28 responses to “Trifextra Sixteen – Mother’s Day

  1. Very nice! Your mom must be so proud of you 🙂

  2. Of course, a grandchild is different from a grandcat. 😉 Oh, the pressure.

  3. LOL! Since you have as many words as you like in the “reply” tell us what the deal is with the Cherrios!

    • Sure, simple enough – We had a box of Honey Nut Cheerios and upon opening it and filling our bowls, we noticed what was a bug carapace in one bowl. So we tossed the box and my mum refused to buy it again. Fast forward to recently when I went by my parents’ house and somehow mentioned buying it –
      “Oh the cereal that has BUGS?!” was her reply. Some grudges are never forgotten I guess 😉

  4. “Tuna, on sandwiches.” Nicely done!

  5. Shawna

    Pretty cute. 🙂

  6. I especailly liked the second one, and the toys that aren’t catnip scented. Made me smile 🙂

  7. Jennifer Worrell

    Bugs in the Cheerios? EWWWW…those are a food group ’round this place…we would just be adding a little protein! Love your poems:)

  8. Those little in-jokes and shared memories are the stuff of life. I’m sure your mom appreciated her tribute.
    Thanks for sharing it with us. Be sure to come back Monday for the new prompt.

  9. The one about your cats was hilarious. Tuna sandwiches and catnip toys… perfect.

  10. Aww. Hi, Brain Tomahawk’s Mom!

  11. Diane Turner

    Grandcat! Love it. Nicely done.

  12. I love the humor in these. I have a friend who is my Mom’s age who is hoping for her first two legged grand-progeny.

Leave a Reply

