Trifextra XX – Phree Foning

And now on to the weekend challenge. This weekend what we are asking from you is a little bit different (again). Many of you regularly submit fictional responses to our prompts. This weekend we are asking for a bit of your memoirs. We want a real account of a period in your life that can be clearly identified by (wait for it) the number three. Maybe it’s the three decades you spent flipping burgers. Maybe it’s the three seconds you hesitated justifiably before saying “I do.” We’d like for your story to be true-ish, and we’d like for it to be an artistic creation, not just a play-by-play account. Think less “blog post” and more “creative writing.”


Welp, I was inspired by this ‘rule of 3’ buuut it was in the play-by-play account, so while I will link to them in gratitude fo rteh inspiration – I won’t submit my own in the contest. It’s mainly a way to get my (creative) writing back in stride from a well-rested and oh so deserved vacation.

So prepare to be ever so slightly entertained (in 333 words or less) by: My first three (free) cellphones!

I ‘purchased’ my first cell phone in October 2001. Though I had sworn to never own one, I figured after 9/11, I would need a way to contact/be contacted (though the WTC towers held a major cell reception antenna in the city).

So I got a phone, the one that comes free with the plan. I chose VoiceStream, because I had the hots for Jamie Lee Curtis. It quickly turned to T-Mobile and Catherine Zeta-Jones. Free upgrade?!

My phone was basic even for those days. It had the creamed spinach screen reminiscent of Game Boys, yet not as awesome, and I subscribed to text horoscopes. Some years later, I noticed a store selling novelty fridge magnet cell phones that beeped and booped which were my exact model, just gutted and made even cheesier. I had regional coverage, which was good for my lazy no-traveling ass.

So I got a new phone, half the size, color screen and a CAMERA! The pics were low res (disguised on a tiny screen) the buttons were too tiny for my king kong fingers, and stuck frequently. I lost that phone in a movie theater (The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly at an indie theater). No one returned it?!

The last free phone was a Razr knock off, which was popular only because people like me didn’t feel like buying the expensive and incredibly frail real one. It was a flip phone and its matte style made it incredibly slippery, prone to obey gravity’s cruel laws, but without breaking. The keys were close enough that dialing usually meant two numbers being mashed at the same time. It dropped calls like hot potatoes too. One day it slipped out of my hand and on to the floor, and was accidentally stepped on, and accidentally kicked into a volcano. Twice.

So now I have the iPhone 4. Useful apps (games), maps which help me get oriented, and about 1000 cat pictures. Yeah, I know… ONLY 1000?!

4 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, General Nerdliness, Humor, Trifextra Writing Challenge, Writing, Writing Challenges

4 responses to “Trifextra XX – Phree Foning

  1. I used to work at Cellular One, so I had the brick phone that you could kill a man with years ago. Now, I’m a proud iPhone 4 owner as well. I love my baby. 🙂

  2. ah, those phones – most often a toy than a phone. 🙂 At least, that’s what happens to our phone. We have it, just in case. Ours is not an iPhone though.

  3. I have the cheapest phone I could find that had a keyboard — I am totally gadget resistant, and got my first phone only because my SO of the time marched me into a cell phone store on the way to dinner and made me get one!

  4. I’m also gadget resistant and still don’t have a cell phone. I like how that makes me weird. That’s funny that no one from The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly returned it.

Leave a Reply

