ZB or not ZB?

That is the question.

I’ve been asked by many of you, including the folks at Trifecta, about what I plan to do with the Zombie Bunnies series, mainly, “Will this be a book?”

It’s a good question, one I have asked myself by the time part four came around. Obviously a book would be a great option/opportunity! The questions I ask myself about that possibility run the typical Who, What, Where, gambit…

The most important question would be, do I stop writing it HERE?!

The way I see it, I could a)finish up the story, b)  solve ONE of the major conflicts, then ‘complete’ it if I get a book deal, or c) a combination, by which I finish it here, but flesh it out to book length/form afterwards.

Considering the momentum I have gained here, would it be ‘fair’? After all, it is your collective enthusiasm, and great words prompts/challenges, and some plain ol’ inspiration/creativity that has brought about this following. I do not mind putting the time and efforts into writing this for you all to enjoy, that’s what blogging is all about.  If I even started pitching this to publishers, would I have to cease writing/giving it away, and at the same time try to prove by the traffic and interest in the story that it would be worth their while to make a deal? Would that be a paradox, or just a buzzkill?

Even just by skipping prompts and going about the next parts on my own steam (which I will do very soon), I would be writing more words and details (I admit, 333 word limits help keep me well-disciplined with ‘essential’ words), and could really get it going.

Or hey I could put up a Kickstarter fund, with the goal of enough $ to self-publish it; get a copy of the book, maybe autographed by me, 8×10 prints of Emma fighting zombunnies, or lunch with Richard Connar for the big donors! That would mean deadlines not just to finish it, but if I do fall short of the goal, the book would still have to be completed.

I could also make it part of my NaNoWriMo come November, and take it from there. This is one of the best ideas I have had for a while; I am sure I can complete it – though time constraints and Thanksgiving week almost always wipe out my chance to ‘win’ it.

To add to the variables, here is a writer who has posted pretty much everything he has written, including his series on…yep, zombies! http://www.davidwellington.net/serials/

I should add that I did buy his ‘Monster’ series, they are really good, and have great theories on the zombies’ perspective.

Agh, too much to consider, but that is how my mind works. But what a dilemma to have, considering I had no idea that this idea would be so well supported. So yes, essentially  it’s all YOUR collective faults. Thanks!

Feel free to chime in with your ideas and opinions. I’ll be pondering, deciding, and most of all, writing. Again, thank you.

4 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Life, Reading, Trifecta Writing Challenge, Writing, Writing Challenges

4 responses to “ZB or not ZB?

  1. I can understand your dilemma. I’m facing a similar issue with my Ellie series. I do plan to turn this into a book (not sure if I’d try to sell it as YA, which I didn’t think I wrote, or adult fiction- possibly Christian fiction.) I can’t leave it hanging on Trifecta, so I’ll end it at a point prior to where I plan to end the book. I don’t want to give away all the plot twists, but I do want there to be enough closure that I don’t get hate email 🙂

    I hope you do continue the idea into a book. Good luck!

  2. Well, I would certainly read the book! I suspect that you might need to stop writing for prompts to make the book as coherent as you’d want it to be, since not every prompt is necessarily going to make sense for where you want to go with the book. But I certainly wouldn’t mind if you did that if there was a book in the offing!

  3. Book idea is lovely. Just give us a sneak peak once in awhile, 🙂 I agree with Annabelle – the prompts will sometimes be not helpful to you and they might even confine your words.

Leave a comment