Trifextra Challenge 22 – Sunny Side Up

This week we’re revisiting an early Trifextra prompt: retelling. This time, we’re asking you to retell your favorite book. In 33 words. Nothing like a challenge. We are sure you’re up to it.

I picked my favorite childhood book (well one of many!).

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

I still have it, worn, yet full of memories.

In the land of Chewandswallow, citizens didn’t buy food. Weather determined their meals (organic?). All was well until overcooked broccoli and pea soup fog rolled in; then a pancake covered the school (lucky!).

28 Comments

Filed under Books, Creative Writing, Reviews, Trifextra Writing Challenge

28 responses to “Trifextra Challenge 22 – Sunny Side Up

  1. Darn it! Now I am hungry for (IKEA) Swedish meatballs! And you’ve made your retelling compelling enough that I WILL get this book from my local library!

  2. This is adorable! And getting to sleep in because it’s A Pancake Day sounds so much more glamorous than a mere Snow Day.

  3. Jennifer Worrell

    I LOVE this book, and I’ve taught it SOOO many times. The pancake is the best part!

  4. I’m probably the only person who hasn’t read this book (or seen the movie.) I’ll have to check it out. (I think I could do without pea soup fog!)

  5. Lance

    yeah, you had me at pancake….really well done. This was a hard one and you nailed it.

  6. I would’ve been happy as hell to eat my way out of a pancake trap as a kid. Oh, who am I kidding? I’d still be thrilled. 🙂

  7. Sounds like one for the wish list.

  8. Great summary! I have not read the book – but ti sounds very creative!

  9. Glad to see another one from the children’s books genre! Haven’t read this book, but the movie, seen! I love the name of the city! =)

  10. I loved this book and still have my copy as well. Excellent retelling!

  11. I’m probably the only one who hasn’t read the book our even seen the movie. I am hungry for meatballs now, though 🙂

    • Sorry about the second comment. I’m depending on my smart phone this weekend and last night I got a message I wasn’t logged in, so I gave up. Apparently I’m not smart enough to use this phone 🙂

  12. dberonilla

    I think you did a great job!
    My favorite part is how you used the words organic and lucky in parentheses. They added so much to the description, which was very clever of you!

  13. Cute take on the prompt. I haven’t read this one, but I think my son will be into it soon enough.
    Thanks for playing. Come on back Monday for the big 33rd challenge, it’s going to be fun.

  14. A nice retelling of the story. We liked the book. And I was pleasantly surprised that the movie version turned out well.

  15. I read(past tense) this book to my kids all the time! We love it! But, dang, thinking about it , I can’t even think of one favorite kids book! So sad!

  16. Thirty-three words?! That is a challenge, but one you’ve well accomplished. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

