Better Late Than Never: Had it, Missed it

Over the weekend, as I worked on the mega-challenge issued by Trifecta last week, I realized, as I peeked through my desktop folder creatively titled ‘blogs’, that there were some challenges that I didn’t finish in time, or read after the fact, but what looked interesting anyway.

So in honor of any that I missed (or will miss), I will designate these as “Better Late Than Never” or ‘BLTN’, which can also stand for Bacon Lettuce Tomato Nutella – but won’t.

This first one come to us via Jenny Matlock’s Challenges from a month ago. 100 words in addition to the six word prompt “You could have had it all”. I missed out by a day (well back then), but inspiration had hit when I read it, so why miss out on the chance to write something on it? Which is sort of what the prompt is about anyway, and hey pressure is off. Enjoy!


You could have had it all…
And I gave it (well, them) to you
Cleverly disguised as moments you would treasure forever
And recall, like talismans:
Your birthday, your kid’s, Uncle Pete’s age,
The day (rather night) you scored for the first time
but not the lucky girl’s (Susan Winnfield) birthday.
Weddings, graduations…six moments of joy and happiness
Could have been magnified 240 million times.
But, no, you chose the starting players’ numbers for the Miami Heat
Since they were winners – perfectly logical deduction!
That’s ok; with millions of players,
the odds would be that a mechanic from Swainsborough
Treasured those days more than you did.

*

4 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Poetry, Writing, Writing Challenges

4 responses to “Better Late Than Never: Had it, Missed it

  1. Hindsight is 20/20. I don’t play lottery much, but when I do, I have the machine pick the numbers because I can’t decide! I did win $100 playing keno once using birthdays and anniversaries. (Not quite enough to quit my job ;))

  2. hm! sounds like lottery numbers to me. I just made a bet using family members’ birthdays during our trip, and I lost it all – well, my bet I mean. 😉

  3. Love it. I’m not a gambler but I’d place my bets on a Bacon Lettuce Tomato Nutella! 😉

Leave a Reply

