Monday Listicles – Reservations for 10

The Monday Listicle for this week (yes I am just getting it juuust in on time) – Here are 10 people I would have over for dinner, in no order or seating arrangement. I will not automatically add that mandatory 18% tip for this party.

No pictures, as finding, crediting, resizing is a chore. Plus explanations are more entertaining.

1. Desiderius Erasmus. I am listing him first because whenever I am asked this question at job interviews and I am allowed only one guest, I always say him. Look up his story for the full reason, but my main reason would be he stood unwavering by his personal ideals at a polarizing movement in the church and society. That sort of character is very inspiring to me in these times, and always in my personal ethics.

2. Ernest Hemingway. He would have some good stories for general conversation, or I might ask him to hunt/fish for our dinner.

3. Rick Bayless. A professional chef in Chicago who specializes in Mexican cuisine. He knows how to throw a good party and could help me cook up whatever Ernie brings back. Plus he knows his tequila, which though I hate it, can liven the place up.

4. Lloyd Kaufman. Troma films (Toxic Avenger, Class of Nuke ’em High) has a cult following of movies that are typically low-budget, bawdy comedy/horrors with endless slapstick jokes, gratuitous nudity and bad special effects that make the graphic violence even more over the top. So yes we would have to discuss the details of Zombie Bunnies: The Movie.

5. Philip K. Dick. I greatly admire his writing; his sci-fi and philosophies are not too complicated but are deeply personal. His stories/characters go along the lines of societal and culture in his day, and now, painting a vision of the future that is entirely plausible.

6. Princess Leia. Yes the character. No, the slave girl costume from Return of the Jedi is not mandatory. But I wouldn’t protest if she did. She’s not just a pretty face; the first thing we see her do in the movies is zap a stormtrooper, then stand firm against Vader without flinching (and then later mouth off to a Grand Moff). Hemingway would respect that.

7. Misty May-Treanor / Kerry Walsh Jennings. They are a team and so count as one. As the Olympic rules go (and as with Leia), the bikini is not mandatory. Wearing their 2012 gold medals IS mandatory. Again, yeah they are sexy, but their ethos of trust and teamwork, and the willingness to work as hard at keeping that as strong as their sporting achievements is admirable.

8. Abe Lincoln. I think he and Teddy Roosevelt get invites on many of these lists- I would have to give him plenty of notice. He and Erasmus could discuss that whole ‘diligence in the face of polarized politics’ idea I spoke about. Also I could get his side of the story about the vampire hunting.*

9. George Lucas. This is who everyone would guess I would invite, if I had one guest. Well ok, fine. He gets in on the original trilogy, and for Zak McKraken (an 80’s video game), and THX 1138. However, all he gets are Wookie Cookies and Blue Milk. If Ernie somehow snags a Gungan, George gets the head portion

10. Animal from the Muppets. If all else fails and dinner is a bore/bust, he can just start a food fight. I’ll try and keep him clear of the tequila.

*there is also a low budget movie about his zombie hunting past on Netflix Instant. Review of that coming soon.

8 Comments

Filed under Lists, Monday Listicles, Writing, Writing Challenges

8 responses to “Monday Listicles – Reservations for 10

  1. An eclectic group for sure. I think Ernest Hemingway and Animal would really hit it off. 😉

  2. Ever read “Van Loon’s Lives”? It was a favorite of mine as a kid, and Erasmus is a regular dinner guest.

  3. This is an eclectic list sure to make the part interesting. As you stated, if nothing else, Animal can start a food fight – and who doesn’t like a food fight? (Well, except for the person who has to clean up!)

    I watched some of Misty May Treanor/Kerry Walsh Jennings in the Olympics and they are good. Hubby likes to watch too…didn’t consider whether it’s the sport or the bikinis that interest him 😆

  4. Sounds like quite a party! Animal has always been a favorite of mine. For some reason I never thought about inviting him to dinner, but he does sound like much more fun than Lincoln or Roosevelt.

  5. Now that’s a good list of people! I think Ernie would love the tequila and I think Abe was known to throw back a few! Oh and don’t forget to tell George Lucas thanks 1,138 times for making THX 1138! 😀

  6. I am off course fashionably late for the party. But may I please sit next to Animal? Funny we were just talking about Bayless and how his brother is a TV host on some sports thingy and I knew nothing but now I am reading your list and feel kind of smug that I actually know all your guest (except #4) because of that! Great list.

Leave a Reply

