Trifextra 31 – Sum of 3

Robert Frost one said, “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” We want you to do the same. Sum up anything you want, but do it in three words. Your response should mirror Frost’s quote by beginning, “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about–.” And the last four words are yours to choose.

With this weekend’s challenge, we have now done 3, 33, 333, and 3,333 words. So either there will be a 33,333 challenge (rivalling NaNoWriMo) or a contest where we remove 3 words from a sentence. I don’t know which frightens me more.

Until there, here’s what I know about that.

_____________

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about food.”

Follow the recipe.

44 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Life, Trifextra, Trifextra Writing Challenge, Writing, Writing Challenges

44 responses to “Trifextra 31 – Sum of 3

  1. Hahaha! I have that problem as well; if I just do this instead…..

  2. Perfect one to follow the banana bread recipe. I have trouble following directions, and I have the meals to prove it πŸ™‚

  3. I’m betting your inspiration came from your banana muffins… Just sayin’. πŸ™‚

  4. don’t forget salt

    πŸ™‚ well done!

  5. This is great πŸ˜€ And so true πŸ˜€

  6. unevenstevencu

    hmmm for the vast majority of the time sure. Especially if you are on the receiving end of the meal, but sometimes to risk greatness and have a little fun …

  7. Haha! Well done! Or maybe medium rare? Either way well done! πŸ˜€

  8. Very nice take though there is something to be said for cooking on the fly…if you know what you’re doing! πŸ™‚

  9. Don’t I know it! πŸ˜€

  10. So clever! Well done ( post and food!)

  11. Original, clever, and oh so true. Great work!

  12. hahaha – I’ve messed up some meals big time!

  13. mairzeebp

    Amen brother. This is one of my favorites of all I’ve read. And I love pizza so now I’m smiling and hungry. Thanks? πŸ™‚

  14. Gina

    This is great. I love to “cook” which can be fly by the seat of your pants and add everything from the frig kind of thing. Now “baking”, on the other hand, is very much a measure, follow the recipe thing (there is some room for interpretation but generally for it to come out right, you have to follow). Fun entry!

  15. I never use a recipe.. Maybe thats the problem!

  16. Cute! (I rarely follow a recipe until it’s too late)

  17. Ha! That’s so true. I can’t cook at all without someone telling me what to do. πŸ™‚

  18. RogRites (aka BetaRules)

    Totally disagree πŸ™‚

  19. SAM

    This made me laugh. I have to disagree too. The recipe is just a guide. πŸ˜‰

  20. Some of my best mistakes have been made by leaving the recipe behind. Also some of the worst baked goods. Thanks for playing along.

  21. I gotta admit, it is rare that I follow a recipe as written. If nothing else, when using familiar spices, I will modify amounts and combinations based on what I know works.
    Great answer to the challenge!

Leave a Reply

