A Winning Combination

About a month ago, with a simple tweet of “Half & Half, no sugar” to Dunkin Donuts twitter feed, I won this:

Just put a pinch between your cheek and gum.

Good enough on it’s own of course. Around this time of year though, DD and Starbucks add a shot or two of artificial flavors to enhance the price coffee experience, then take it away just as suddenly. I did enjoy the pumpkin spice lattes, but the price is ridiculous and I wondered if I can make this my damn self. Well I knew I COULD, I just needed a recipe to help me along.

Searching the webnets, I found The Budding Baketress has the perfect pumpkin spice syrup recipe. What’s the secret? Actual pumpkin mix, not just the spices. Such revolutionary methods! It’s incredibly easy and enjoyable well past the times that the coffee chains dictate when you should be allowed to enjoy it. Again, revolutionary!

Also do not limit her to that recipe – the buttermilk biscuits are also yummy!

7 Comments

Filed under Contests, Food, Life, Recipes

7 responses to “A Winning Combination

  1. Sounds good! Let me go over and see. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Wow that is cool that tweet got you that. Awesome.

  3. I think they are trying to further inflate the price by deliberately creating a shortage of pumpkin coffee. I smell a conspiracy… or maybe that’s just coffee.

    In all seriousness though, how much better does pumpkin taste for being seasonal? I’m sure I’d hate it if it were available year-round, but the novelty makes it so much better.

  4. Good for you for making your own. I don’t drink coffee, but I know people who pay $4 for a coffee. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

