Ketchup With Us #8 – Holidaze

Ms Mel and ODNT want you to share your holiday traditions with them. Tell about one of your family’s holiday traditions. (NOTE: I didn’t say you had to LIKE the tradition.) Ketchup With Us

There are so many facets as to what makes a holiday gathering with my family, and all of the things listed below are happening at the same time, which make it one big ball of tradition.

  • Regardless of the main course, baked ziti must be available.
  • Kids are disciplined using full (including confirmation) names.
  • We discovered coquito shuts my uncle up… for a while.
  • Adults no longer exchange presents; they’re too awful to regift.
  • My Hess trucks are displayed. Batteries are hidden away- sorry kids!
  • I feel truly thankful… it’s once a year!
12 Comments

Filed under Family, Holidays, Ketchup With Us, Life, Lists

12 responses to “Ketchup With Us #8 – Holidaze

  1. Mel

    Mnmm…baked ziti. It sounds like you have a good mixture of entertainment for the holidays. And my son would drool over your Hess trucks! 🙂

    Thanks for linking up, BT! Happy Holidays!!

  2. I think we have a new tradition . . . Baked ziti! My child might actually eat. Enjoy your holiday!

  3. I’m the third person to comment on the Baked Ziti … but yum! Also, what is “coquito?” I might just have to pick up a bottle/whip up a batch/conjure up some before the big day. 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

  4. I hope those Hess trucks are also out of reach of the little ones!
    How far back does your collection go?

    • I had one when I was a kid – the BOAT! It was already busted up so it became a bath toy. I didn’t start again until the Space Shuttle in 1999. I don’t get it every year, some designs seem boring or repetitious to me. I do have one helicopter version, but I like this one too 😉

  5. You have Hess trucks? Are you from Florida? It’s the only place I’ve ever seen them for sale. (I just kept two of mine. One has the shuttle on it.)

  6. Love the last one. That’s definitely something to be thankful for!

  7. Sounds like a recipe for riotous laughter and all sorts.

    My husband’s family has lasagna with homemade garlic bread each Christmas. Before we feast on the lasagna, we stuff ourselves with cookies and eggnog. I think a little surprise would be lovely. 😉

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, BT. All the best for the coming year.
    I’m sorry I am slacking in comments and visits – life is a little crazy. The Christmas break will allow me to get caught up with bloggy friends’ posts, hopefully. 🙂

  8. Lasagna and full names. I must have been really bad because I’m so used to hearing my full name that I don’t answer to anything else at the holidays around my family.

  9. Im liking the idea of Baked Ziti. I have to tell you this… Everytime I click on your blog I crave pizza. LOL

Leave a Reply

