Ketchup With Us #10: Commuticating

Ms Mel and ODNT know that they are the bright spots of everyone’s day, but what about those drastically less awesome aspects of your routine? In 57 words or less, tell us about WHO (or WHAT) you go head to head with every day. Ketchup With Us

_______________

Monday through Friday, I face NYC’s bus and subway system. Besides the MTA’s chaotic schedule, commuters stalk entire cars for empty seats, pouncing like vultures playing ‘musical carrion’. I am unsympathetic to sick passengers delaying my commute, people asking for help, and kids who should be in class dancing around for tips. Still… I’m a good person.

_______________

13 Comments

Filed under Ketchup With Us, Life, Writing, Writing Challenges

13 responses to “Ketchup With Us #10: Commuticating

  1. welcometograndcentral

    Do you wear any kind of surgical mask as protection from airborn germs? EW.

  2. Mel

    I would spray the kids with Lysol if they got too close. 🙂 You are a much better person than I. Do you still wear your Zamzee?

    As always, glad to see you!

  3. This really speaks to me. There’s no one I find less worthy of sympathy than a sick passenger on my subway. And the phrase “musical carrion” is a keeper.

  4. There’s nothing worse than traffic or people in your way when you have somewhere to be.

  5. Pingback: What I Fight With – A Ketchup With Us Post | Edward Hotspur

  6. It’s ugly riding at rush hour. Hard to avoid sick people breathing on you. And you have to grab the railings that those same people touched! I think I’m a nice guy too but it’s just too much. I was hoping I could make this comment funny but it’s just too depressing to even try.

  7. I can handle the sick much better than the stench. Of people. In summer. (Vomit belch) Yeah. I think I just grossed things up around here. Oh, well. Happy to be of service, BT.

    I like your entry. I could picture the whole thing. Well done. Thanks for linking up.

  8. First of all, I have no idea how you navigate the subway system. Just the thought of it makes me feel like an elephant is sitting on my chest. Too. Many. People. I laughed at how you ended it; still being a good person despite the lack of sympathy 🙂

  9. If you think about it, it’s a gross and germy way to travel but the crowds at rush hour…I don’t envy your M-F commute. I’d be at it’s throat!

  10. I do not envy your commute. At least these days, you can take comfort that there is no SARS thing to really drive people a bit paranoid. Small mercies, eh? 😉

Leave a Reply

