Ketchup With Us #22 – The Ups & Downs in Life

Ms Mel and ODNT want you to tell us about the time you rode a literal or figurative rollercoaster, lived by the edge of your seat, when something scared the holy living carp out of you, or that time you played an epic 2 hour long round of chutes and ladders. Ketchup With Us

My first time on the world famous1 Cyclone, located in Coney Island, Brooklyn…

_______

I went, knowing one bit of important advice: eat2 AFTER the Cyclone, not before3. What we didn’t realize is that anything in your breast pocket will fly out, which, using some previously unknown Spidey- level reflexes, I plucked a Metrocard out of the air on the second drop. Unfortunately, the cameras are set on the first!4

________________________________

1 – and Sandy-proof.
2 – Meaning a hot/corn dog and cheese fries at Nathan’s.
3 – Garbage cans are conveniently located near the exit.
4 – so you are just gonna have to believe me.

7 Comments

Filed under Humor, Ketchup With Us, Life, Writing, Writing Challenges

7 responses to “Ketchup With Us #22 – The Ups & Downs in Life

  1. Mel

    I felt like I was on it with you. Impressive snatching the card out of the air. Chris often tells the story of how his brother’s hat flew off on Space Mountain and his dad snatched it out of the air 2 cars back.

    Thanks so much for linking up. Loved your footnotes. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow. I love this story. I saw it in super slo-mo in my head, of course. Fantastic!!!

    And I love (LOVE!) the footnotes, by the way. Great entry. Thanks, BT. πŸ™‚

  3. Teh Cyclone is the only time I’ve been well and truly scared on a coaster.
    And not for any of the good reasons either.

  4. The footnotes are great! I’ve gotta go to Coney Island one of these days and do both the cyclone and the Nathan’s hotdog/fries. With plenty of ketchup. πŸ˜‰

  5. Great story! If I ever get there, I’ll try the hotdog and the coaster. In reverse order. πŸ˜‰

  6. Just the mere mention of a ride that requires an empyt stomach makes me nauseous. No way would I ever try it, but how cool you got your metro card back πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

