Ketchup #7: An Alternative to Healthy

Ms Mel and ODNT want you to share a favorite holiday recipe with them. For once, there is no Heinz-inspired word limit. Just don’t go overboard. (God, I HATED that movie.) Ketchup With Us

To me, the challenge is to have a recipe so simple it fits in 57 words or less, and takes very little time. So I did it anyway. Then I remembered / decided to add the garlic. Garlic justifies extra words, so I don’t feel so bad about it. 

This is a great go-to, and it stars a veggie, which makes it healthy. Just keep telling yourself ‘healthy’. 

________________

Bag of fresh Brussels Sprouts (NOT frozen)

4 ounces walnuts/ pine nuts (pignolis)

4 ounces chopped bacon/ pancetta

3 cloves garlic, crushed and rough chopped (NOT minced)

Bread crumbs and grated cheese (optional)

Fry the bacon, nuts (add garlic halfway to prevent burning/bitterness) in a medium deep pot until browned. Spoon the mix out onto paper towels to drain, leaving the oil in the pot (Leave the gun. Take the cannoli). Pare & halve the sprouts, add to oil with ½ – ¾ cup water. Boil until sprouts are soft and/or water is evaporated. Pour sprouts into serving bowl, add meat/ nuts, toss. Serve immediately, as cold sprouts = gah.

*Your other option is to pour into a casserole dish, top with bread crumbs and grated cheese, and broil for a few minutes to crust up.

________________

13 Comments

Filed under Food, Ketchup With Us, Recipes

13 responses to “Ketchup #7: An Alternative to Healthy

  1. Mel

    Oh.My.Deliciousness! I cannot wait to try these! (And keep the vampires away with my breath.)

  2. oh, tasty! brussels sprouts, my love. When I first came over, I saw these little cabbages and found them so cute. I had some but was so disappointed with the taste. I guess, I was expecting some cute flavir from them too, not the bitter that I tasted. I have made peace with the sprouts since then and it ranks among my all time favorites.

  3. Oh, there’s no photo. I would have loved to save the recipe in pinterest. I’ll have to go skulking here next time I have BS available, Brussels sprouts, that is. 😉

  4. I love brussels sprouts, and all you had to do was mention the word “bacon” for me to get all tingly.

  5. Great recipe! Every time I read your blog, I get a craving for pizza!

  6. as a semi-pro chef, I’d like to have some of that please! Sounds delish..also, if you’ve never sliced & sauteed sprouts, give it a go, and prepare for nutty yumminess…:)

  7. How cool is it that you wrote a Ketchup post about Brussels sprouts?!!? I, for one, am touched. And actually, it sounds delicious. I might just have to try it and serve it to my kids. Bibbity Bobbity Bacon!

    Thanks for linking up!

  8. Ketchup rules! That’s all I got – it’s Monday…

  9. I would even eat that cold. 🙂

  10. Mmmmm. I love garlic. And cheese. I think I’ll add the cheese.

  11. What was not to like about Overboard?

  12. I got the chance to make this tonight. It is very tasty, and perfect for special occasions. The recipe is definitely a keeper. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment